Frostburg State Rugby


Fifteen as One - Est. 1974

In the winter of 1974, Frostburg State College business professor Terry Gatson and twenty students met on what is now the baseball stadium to hold the first rugby practice this club has ever had. Over forty years the club those twenty founded and the ideals of brotherhood, hard work and competitive spirit that they brought still live on; with the team boasting an over fifty percent win rate since the club’s inception. You can find more about the team’s history here.

Competing under the National Small College Rugby Organization header in the Potomac Rugby Conference within the Capital Geographic Union, the Frostburg State Rugby team has established and continually proves its reputation as a physical and aggressive team that lives our motto “Fifteen as One” both on the pitch and off of it. Currently, the team has reached conference playoffs multiple times over the past few years and we are eager to take the next step in order to make appearances in regional and national championships where we feel we truly belong.


Anybody is more than welcome to join the Rugby team regardless if you have previous rugby experience or not. Most of our players had never even seen a rugby ball or much less heard of the sport before they came out to practice. We accept everybody into our brotherhood as long as they are willing to work hard, put the time in necessary to be successful and play their hearts out.

We practice Monday through Friday on the Upper Practice Field from 4:30 to 6:30 PM. We hope to see you out there! Feel free to get in contact with our club president or any other of our officers if you have any further questions.

Frostburg Rugby Alumni should join the Facebook group “Frostburg State University Rugby Supporters & Alumni” in order to stay connected with both the current team and your fellow alumni as well as keep informed about events such as Alumni Weekend and more.


Contact Us!

Team Coach(es): Pete Kelly - [email protected]

                               Eric Slonaker – [email protected]

Club President: Weston Foster – [email protected]

Team Captain: Dezmond Proctor – [email protected]

Treasurer: Rob Wygal – [email protected]

Match Secretary: Brian Day – [email protected]

Equipment and Field Manager: Riley Cahill – [email protected]

Community Service and Fundraising Chair: John Davis, Darian Glover, Baldwin Banks, Dezmond Proctor – [email protected], [email protected], [email protected], [email protected]